Process Safety Management

CCPS enlists 20 elements for Chemical Process Safety in industry. These are:

Commit to Process Safety Understand Hazards and Risks Manage Risks Learning from Experience
1. Compliance with Standards 6. Hazard Identification and Risk Analysis 8. Safe Work Practices 17. Measurement and Metrics
2. Process Safety Competency 7. Operating Procedures 9. Asset Integrity and Reliability 18. Auditing
3. Workforce Involvement 10. Contractor Management 19. Management Review and Continuous Improvement
4. Stakeholder Outreach 11. Training and Performance Assurance 20. Compliance with Standards
5. Process Knowledge Management 12. Management of Change
13. Operational Readiness
14. Conduct of Operations
15. Emergency Management
16. Incident Investigation

By simply following the guidelines of CCPS, i.e. requirements of documents and written procedures, Hazard identification study documents, Mechanical Integrity verification records, etc. gaps in safety can be identified.

For eg: Hazard Identification and Risk Analysis (Element 6) involves inspection and review of HAZOPs, HAZIDs, Hazardous area Classification studies, Quantitative risk Assessments, SIL Studies, PSSR, Fire Safety, Electrical Safety, Lightning Protection design, Electrostatic Hazard Assessment, process Safety Gap Assessments, etc.